The Number Ten

Introducing the Ten Series

When it comes to Rolfing, ten is the magic number. Our work together is structured over ten sessions as we journey around your body and explore a range of questions about body use from a number of different perspectives.

For example, the focus of the first hour is the breath, and in particular, on the inhalation phase. Session two is about the feet and lower legs, and (more broadly) the theme of support: do you feel supported by your feet? The full cycle of ten sessions offers a complete exploration of the whole body and is designed to enable progressively deeper exploration as we work through the fascial layers.

The ‘ten series’ (as it is known) developed out of Ida Rolf’s lifelong explorations with touch and movement, but it has proved to be one of the most enduring and resilient aspects of her legacy. Rolfers today continue to use Ida’s ten series because it works, and because it offers a coherent and compelling roadmap for the work that we do.

In the coming weeks and months I’ll be writing about each of the ten sessions in more detail, but in the meantime here are some other ideas that harness the power of ten.

Ten Things You Need to Know About Rolfing

Ready, steady, GO!

Become a friend of London Rolfing

News and offers straight to your inbox.

Thank you! Please check your inbox for a confirmation message.